AI Tool PrivacyAll 50 tools

What AI tools do with your business data, checked against the vendor’s own pages every week.

Is Notion AI safe for business data?

Notion says that by default neither it nor its AI providers use your workspace data to train any models, on every plan; what changes by plan is how long the AI providers may keep your data.

Last checked October 23, 2026 · First published October 23, 2026 · 0 changes

Training, plan by plan

  • Not used for training: Free, Plus, and Business: not used by default.
  • Not used for training: Enterprise: not used by default.

What it does with your data

Notion AI, plan by plan. Every answer links to the vendor’s own page.
QuestionFree, Plus, and BusinessEnterprise
Trains on your data by default?

No, not by default. Notion says neither it nor its AI providers use your data to train any models, and its contracts with AI providers forbid it.

Read on October 23, 2026 · source: notion.com

Suggest an edit

No, not by default. The same commitment applies on every plan.

Read on October 23, 2026 · source: notion.com

Suggest an edit

How long chats are kept

The AI provider keeps your data for 30 days or fewer, then deletes it.

Read on October 23, 2026 · source: notion.com

Suggest an edit

Varies by model. Most models keep nothing after answering (zero data retention). The few that keep data for a limited period are off by default, and the workspace owner must opt in.

Read on October 23, 2026 · source: notion.com

Suggest an edit

Who can read them

Notion AI follows your existing page permissions. It cannot see or use content the person asking cannot already access, and it never widens anyone’s access.

Read on October 23, 2026 · source: notion.com

Suggest an edit

Notion AI follows your existing page permissions. It cannot see or use content the person asking cannot already access.

Read on October 23, 2026 · source: notion.com

Suggest an edit

Where data is stored

Not stated on the page we read.

Not confirmed · page checked: notion.com, October 23, 2026

Suggest an edit

Not stated on the page we read.

Not confirmed · page checked: notion.com, October 23, 2026

Suggest an edit

How to delete

Delete the page or workspace. You can restore it within 30 days; after that it moves into permanent deletion. Search embeddings are deleted within 60 days.

Read on October 23, 2026 · source: notion.com

Suggest an edit

Delete the page or workspace. You can restore it within 30 days; after that it moves into permanent deletion. Search embeddings are deleted within 60 days.

Read on October 23, 2026 · source: notion.com

Suggest an edit

How to turn training off

  1. Review who can see sensitive pages. Notion AI uses only content the person asking already has access to. Source: notion.com
  2. On Enterprise, leave data-retaining models off unless you need them. Notion says they are off by default and the workspace owner must opt in. Source: notion.com
  3. Deleted pages can be restored for 30 days. After that, they are permanently deleted. Source: notion.com

Safer setup for a small team

Use Notion AI on Business or Enterprise inside your company workspace, and keep page permissions tight, because Notion AI can read whatever the person asking can read.

Plan to approve: Notion Business or Enterprise workspace
Setting to check: Page permissions; data-retaining models off (Enterprise)

A line for your AI policy: Staff may use Notion AI only inside our company Notion workspace. Pages with customer data keep their access limited to the people who need them.

Want this in your team’s AI policy? The SafeStart kit, a plain-English AI policy and training for small teams, is coming soon.

Questions about your own setup? Write to hello@terrapilgrim.org.

What changed

No changes recorded since we first published this page on October 23, 2026. Every change goes in the change log.

Sources (1)

Read the vendor’s page · Report a change

Related tools

  • 2 plans checked

    Slack AI

    Slack

    • Not used for training: Pro: not used for AI that writes text.
    • Not used for training: Business+ and Enterprise+: not used for AI that writes text.
    Checked October 23, 2026
  • 1 plan checked

    ClickUp Brain

    ClickUp

    • Not used for training: All ClickUp plans: not used.
    Checked October 24, 2026
  • 2 plans checked

    Airtable AI

    Airtable

    • Not used for training: Free, Team, Pro, and Plus: not used, kept up to 30 days for safety checks.
    • Not used for training: Business and Enterprise Scale: not used.
    Checked October 24, 2026
  • 3 plans checked

    Miro AI

    Miro

    • Used for training: Free: used, unless an admin turns it off.
    • Not used for training: Starter and Business: not used.
    • Not used for training: Enterprise: not used without your consent.
    Checked October 24, 2026
  • 2 plans checked

    Gemini Notebook (NotebookLM)

    Google

    • Depends: Personal Google Account: not used, unless you give feedback.
    • Not used for training: Google Workspace: not used.
    Checked October 24, 2026
  • 2 plans checked

    Adobe Acrobat AI Assistant

    Adobe

    • Not used for training: Personal Adobe accounts: not used for generative AI.
    • Not used for training: Business, team, and enterprise accounts: not used.
    Checked October 23, 2026

Keep browsing

Get the monthly changes

One email each month: what changed, in plain English.

Never shared. Unsubscribe anytime.

Sponsors
Your logo here: sponsor usSafeStart kit: plain-English AI rules for small teams, coming soon